How to write a short story: Stuart McLean shares his secrets

893081_10151379249507545_1674281165_o-1

Writing is one of the great loves of my life and one of the banes of my existence. The fact is: I have a hard time finishing anything. So I was thrilled to discover this list of writing tips by Canadian writer, humorist and broadcaster Stuart McLean in the latest issue of Chatelaine magazine. My favourite tip: “Have Faith. The other difference between you and Alice Munro is she believes in herself. She believes she is a writer.”

I am keeping it handy by my computer. I hope if I look at it long enough I will actually be able to complete something! Hope it helps you too. Teacher alert: also a good tool for students.

stuart's writing tips

If you don’t know Stuart Mclean, you’re in for a treat. Make a cup of coffee, curl up and listen to him spin a good yarn: http://www.cbc.ca/vinylcafe/listen.php

Thanks for the tips Stuart!

Leave a Reply

