Audrey Hepburn, the reader

“I have to be alone very often. I’d be quite happy if I spent from Saturday night until Monday morning alone in my apartment. That’s how I refuel.”
~Audrey Hepburn

Style icon, actress, humanitarian, devoted mother — and reader. That’s the charm of Audrey Hepburn. She eschewed all the trappings of stardom preferring to retreat to her home and family life. She loved to garden, take naps, listen to music or relax with a good book. Her favourite authors included Graham Greene, Tom Wolfe, Jeffrey Archer, Willa Cather and Rudyard Kipling, to name a few. Her favourite books are said to include: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett, Heidi by Johanna Spyri, The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank and The Cocktail Party by T. S. Eliot.

audrey reading

Today is Audrey’s birthday. She was born May 4, 1929 and died January 20, 1993. Her life was wrought with tragedy–growing up without a father, living under Nazi-occupation in the Netherlands, enduring multiple miscarriages and two divorces. But there were great triumphs–she became the mother of two, a much-loved screen legend and passionate protector of children everywhere. In the last years of her life, she worked tirelessly as UNICEF International Goodwill Ambassador. Her family continues this work through the Audrey Hepburn Children’s Fund.

In aid of UNICEF, she gave readings of The Diary of  a Young Girl by Anne Frank:

Happy Birthday Audrey. We miss you.

“If my world were to cave in tomorrow, I would look back on all the pleasures, excitements and worthwhilenesses I have been lucky enough to have had.

Not the sadness, not my miscarriages or my father leaving home, but the joy of everything else. It will have been enough.”

~Audrey Hepburn

5 comments

  1. A very inspiring reading, thanks for posting about Audrey Hepburn. It was poignant to hear her read from Anne Frank’s diary, for Anne had to die such a horrific death, despite her love of life and nature.

    • Thank you for your comment. Yes it is a lovely, moving, reading. I’ve read that it was a very emotional experience for Audrey to read it in light of her own experiences as a child.

  2. Thank you for sharing this info about Audrey. My blog is around her and Katharine Hepburn and I never get tired of hearing just how amazing she was. I’m a big reader myself so I can’t wait to read more on what you find. Thanks again for the info and great pics too!

Leave a Reply

