Overdue books: How to vanish, play chess and gross out your friends

vintage library

My daughter is part of a very interesting generation: The children born after 9/11. They have been dubbed the iGenerationGen Tech, Gen Z, Plurals (as in coming from a pluralistic society), post-millenial, and so on.

Much has been made of how connected they are to technology. How they spend more time indoors in front of a computer than outside playing.

So what is on the minds of kids today?

If this list of overdue books from my daughter’s class is any indication–kids today want to do the same things that kids did a century age: become invisible, play tricks on their friends, win at chess, and make crafts.

Take a look:

overdue books copy fin

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: Thank goodness for school libraries and librarians. They give children a quiet, creative space to learn and dream, as well as the opportunity to take books out and plot various schemes in the comfort of their own home.

(Now where is my daughter? I saw her a minute ago. But she seems to have vanished!)

*************

Photo credit: School library, Canada, 1950s, from Library and Archives Canada

10 comments

    • Same to you! Time for me to disconnect and…jump in puddles! 😉 (p.s. I was interested to see that your city has one of the highest users of libraries in the world!)

      • We do have some great libraries hereabouts. Some of my fondest childhood memories happened in my local library.

        Melting is GOOD. Have to get rid of all the water before the deep freeze comes back though.

        Did you see that huge sinkhole that opened up right in front of UofO? Crazy! Be careful out there!

      • No, I hadn’t seen it–so I looked it up. It’s terrible! Yes, I think we could be in trouble with the rain, melting snow and impending cold weather…what a crazy winter. Nothing to do but stay close-to-home and stay warm!

        On 21 February 2014 16:00, Lost and Found Books wrote:

        >

  1. Two of my four kids were born after 9/11 (I was pregnant with one of them when it happened). It is true that they technology is an integral part of their life (and learning); but they still enjoy plenty of “old-fashioned” things. I think people still need plenty of non-tech activities in their life, and we’re happier when we have balance between the two.
    And I adore libraries, they’ve always been my happy place.

    • Hi Miriam! So lovely to hear from you. I appreciate your comments, and I totally agree. The kids I know really thrive with a balance of tech/no tech. Kids will be kids, and we need to give the freedom to dream!

Leave a Reply

