quote Falling in love…with books

“There is no mistaking a real book when one meets it. It is like falling in love, and like that colossal adventure it is an experience of great social import. Even as the tranced swain, the booklover yearns to tell others of his bliss. He writes letters about it, adds it to the postscript of all manner of communications, intrudes it into telephone messages, and insists on his friends writing down the title of the find. Like the simple-hearted betrothed, once certain of his conquest, “I want you to love her, too!” It is a jealous passion also. He feels a little indignant if he finds that any one else has discovered the book, too.” ~Christopher Morley

flickr.com 1

American writer Christopher Morley (1890-1957) really nails it when he talks about our love affair with books and literature.

Reading is much like falling in love. It’s such a personal thing which books and authors we fall in love with, but when we fall — we fall hard.

That brings me to the much-dreaded (by many) Valentine’s Day. Here’s a helpful hit to my husband and anyone married to a bibliophile: I don’t want chocolates. I don’t want a card. I want to spend time in my favourite second-hand bookstore with the man (and child) I love, and hot coffee in hand. A blissful escape from this eternal winter. (And if you’re new to my blog, here’s why I love old books so much — I blame it on my dad!)

And, something that made me smile, this week’s window display at a lovely Ottawa paper shop:

IMG_6299 IMG_6300

Happy Valentine’s Day.

11 comments

  1. Oh, how alike we are, Booksy. I will be hitting my fave bookstore after work to choose a Valentine’s gift for my sweetie- and perhaps pick up a little something for myself while I’m there. It IS a long weekend, after all.
    Happy Family Day to you and yours!

  2. I actually have more than one fave (not surprisingly)- ‘The Sleuth of Baker Street’ has been my best go-to for mysteries of all types since I was knee high to a grasshopper (Bayview Ave in Leaside). ‘Type’- on Queen West- right by Trinity Bellwoods Park is great for casual browsing. Honestly though, if I happen to be out strolling (as happens frequently- when there is no polar vortex happening) I’m hard-pressed to walk past any store front that looks like it might be the doorway to a land of books.
    Which is your favourite up there in the Nation’s Capital? Mine used to be a little place on Elgin near Somerset (can’t remember its name for the life of me- Perfect Books, maybe?) where I could- and did- talk books with the staff for hours on end.

    • My favourite new bookstore was Nicholas Hoare, but sadly it closed, as did my neighbourhood bookstore Collected Works. I do like Perfect Books, but it’s out of the way for me. My favourite–still standing–bookstore is Books on Beechwood in New Edinburgh (also out of the way, but next to the Scone Witch, so worth a drive.) On the other hand, second-hand book stores seem to be thriving.Maybe all us public servants are penny-pinching due to the layoffs! I know I am.

  3. Don’t forget Black Squirrel books on Bank Street. They are actually opening a second bookstore across from the old Mayfair Theatre in Ottawa South. A dream come true.

  4. You are really lucky. In my part of the world, you can hardly find good second hand bookstores. I have to entirely depend on ebay and Amazon for used books and the shipping cost leaves me broke by the middle of every month.

Leave a Reply

