the pages were softly turned…

“The rooms were very still while the pages were softly turned and the winter sunshine crept in to touch the bright heads and serious faces with a Christmas greeting.”
― Louisa May Alcott, Little Women, 1868

nationalassnbookpublishers_1927_100

I love giving and getting books for Christmas: after all the presents are opened, and you get a few moments to leaf through the pages of your new book with a cup of coffee. Bliss.

One of my favourite Stuart McLean stories Mystery Gift expresses the joy of books as presents–even (or especially) if it’s a gift you give yourself (I can’t say more than that, as it would spoil the story for you!).

In a Mystery Gift, Stephanie (daughter of Morley and Dave) receives a book by mail for Christmas, sent anonymously in brown paper wrapping. The book is called “Encyclopedia of Forgotten Places.” (great name, eh?) She gets lost in it over the holidays, taking it to read in her closet with pots of milky tea. This is the book that ignites her love of reading.

I imagine it would look something like this…

eb6db4d19ef016aa7673a1694951e3b4.jpg

I can’t find Mystery Gift online to share with you here. However, I found one of my favourite Vinyl Cafe holiday stories…when Morley gets the idea that the family should make their own Christmas gifts. Hilarity ensues! (You can listen to more Vinyl Cafe stories here.) Enjoy!

Wishing you a peaceful and happy Christmas.

 

5 comments

  1. Oh what a great post..I am waiting until it is time to unwrap the presents..some of them have that nice little flatpack shape, with my name on it. I cannot wait, but I have to and I am going to listen to the vinyl cafe to bide the time. Thank you Dear friend, happy Holidays xoxox Johanna

Leave a comment