Book review: My Dyslexia is my dyslexia (or, five reasons I love this book)

My review of the memoir My Dyslexia by Philip Schultz.

Dyslexic Library

“This much is clear: The mind of the dyslexic is different from the minds of other people. Learning that my problem with processing language wasn’t stupidity seemed to take most of my life.” ~Philip Schultz, My Dyslexia

dsc08301My Dyslexia (2011) by Philip Schultz is on the top of my reading list for 2017. I’ve already read it a few times, underlining the good bits and reading it out loud to whoever will listen. And I will read it again, and again, and again.

Here’s why.

1. My Dyslexia is my dyslexia (and maybe yours too?)

Schultz writes about his dyslexia, but his experiences are so relateable that he could be writing about my dyslexia, your dyslexia, your child’s dyslexia, and so on. Given that I don’t know many other adults with dyslexia, or those who talk about, reading this was an epiphany for me.

It is strangely comforting to…

View original post 801 more words

4 comments

  1. INSPIRATIONAL, VERY TOUCHING WITH SOME HUMOR. I CAN,T IMAGINE HOW YOU FEEL ABOUT THE DIFFICULTIES YOU HAVE READING. ARE YOU LIKE PHILIP , WHAT DOES A PAGE OF WORDS LOOK LIKE TO YOU? YOU HAVE STRUGGLED SO LONG WITHOUT HELP. SUCH A PITY, I AM SORRY AND WISH WE COULD GO BACK KNOWING WHAT WE KNOW TODAY. I LOVE YOU MOM

    • It depends on the day really. Some days I don’t notice anything, other days are harder. I think the worst part is being a child, and learning to read. But like Mr. Schultz, I am lucky to have you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

