How do I get there from here?

“”Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”

“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.

“I don’t much care where – ” said Alice.

“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.

” – so long as I get somewhere,” Alice added as an explanation.

“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if you only walk long enough.”

~Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass
alice1

Becoming a mother is a bit like going down the rabbit hole. All of it a wonderful adventure — but rather discombobulating at times.

Now I’m taking a new path: Going back to school to build a new career. After so many years out of the paid workforce, it’s going to be a bit of hike. But I’m up for it. And I’m looking forward to taking the journey with my family and friends.

Wishing all of you wonderful new adventures in 2014!

10 comments

  1. Good luck! It’s a struggle at times but there is nothing more satisfying than taking some time out for yourself to study. I hope it all goes well for you in 2014. By the way…’discombobulating…fabulous word!

    • Thank you for the kind words. It sounds counter intuitive, as I am a paper lover, but I am going to study technical writing. I have the writing part down pat, but I really lack the skills to work in our on-line world. I want to find new and interesting ways to communicate with people — especially interested in applying technology to promote literacy, education and social justice.

  2. For Good Luck I wish you three times Good Luck: Good Luck, Good Luck , Good Luck and a Happy New Year!!! What are you going to study? And a little selfish ps: I hope you will still find time to talk about books and etecteras from time to time??? hugs from Ohio!

    • Happy New Year! I am going to study technical writing. I am a writer-editor by profession, but most writing positions now require technical knowledge. It is going to be a challenge, but a good one! I hope to keep up the blog. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

